The Schengen Area is a zone comprising 26 European countries that have abolished passport control at their mutual borders, allowing for the free movement of people within the area. It is named after the Schengen Agreement, which was signed in the village of Schengen in Luxembourg.

Schengen Tourist Visa

  1. Valid Passport: Your passport must be valid for at least three months beyond your intended stay in the Schengen Area and must have been issued within the last ten years.
  2. Visa Application Form: Fill out the visa application form accurately and completely. You can obtain the form from the embassy or consulate of the Schengen country you are applying to, or you may find it on their official website.
  3. Passport Photos: Provide two recent passport-sized photos that meet the specific requirements of the embassy or consulate. Generally, the photos should have a white background and be taken within the last three months.
  4. Travel Itinerary: Submit a detailed travel itinerary, including flight reservations, accommodation bookings, and a planned outline of your activities and destinations within the Schengen Area.
  5. Travel Medical Insurance: Obtain travel medical insurance that meets the Schengen Area’s minimum coverage requirements. The insurance should cover emergency medical expenses, including repatriation and emergency hospital treatment, with a minimum coverage of 30,000 Euros.
  6. Proof of Accommodation: Show proof of accommodation arrangements during your stay in the Schengen Area. This can be hotel reservations, an invitation letter from a host, or a rental agreement.
  7. Proof of Travel Purpose: Provide supporting documents to demonstrate the purpose of your visit, such as a detailed itinerary, invitation letters, or event tickets.
  8. Proof of Civil Status: Submit documents indicating your marital status, such as a marriage certificate, birth certificate, or proof of legal guardianship for minors.

The maximum duration of stay on a Schengen tourist visa is 90 days within a 180-day period. This means that you can spend a total of 90 days within the Schengen Area during any 180-day period, counting from your first entry. A single-entry Schengen visa allows you to enter the Schengen Area once and stay for the approved duration (up to 90 days). A multiple-entry visa permits you to enter and exit the Schengen Area multiple times within the visa’s validity period, as long as you do not exceed the maximum stay of 90 days within any 180-day period.

The processing time for a Schengen visa can vary depending on the embassy or consulate where you apply. It typically takes around 15 calendar days for a decision to be made, but it can be longer during peak travel seasons or if additional processing is required. Some embassies may offer expedited or priority processing for an additional fee.